Shutterthyme's Blog

September 26, 2009

Sculpting with Wire, Plaster, Clay, and Metal

Filed under: 3-D Design — Mia @ 2:00 am
Fabric Sculpture Maquette

Fabric Sculpture Maquette

Posterized Maquette

Posterized Maquette

This is the fourth idea for my fabric sculpture project. The clay was formed around a wire armature to create an abstraction of an inverted wine goblet and an egg-shaped place card holder. My hope was to create a mobius strip in the clay maquette. I didn’t quite reach my goal but I like the organic shapes with their contrasting curvilinear edges. After taping the maquette, I can prepare a pattern for a 20″ fabric sculpture.

"Broken Dreams" Plaster Sculpture

"Broken Dreams" Plaster Sculpture

"Broken Dreams

"Broken Dreams"

I’m still cleaning plaster dust from my home workspace! “Broken Dreams” is an abstraction of a sinking sailboat. I had moved to Florida to live on a Hunter-33 sailboat but have since chosen to live closer to my grandson.

Aerial and his Water Lily

Aerial's a Vegetarian

Dragonfly Eyes

Dragonfly Eyes

Water Lily Maquette

A dragonfly wouldn’t be my first choice in sculpting models, but creating a wire insect was our assignment. “Aerial” was constructed from 14, 16, 18, 20, and 22 gauge copper wire. Spiral, coil, and cold connection techniques were used to create a two-part structure. The back wings provide a stand upon which the rest of the sculpture rests.

Copper, brass, and nickel sheet metal were hammered, cut, sanded and riveted to make Aerial’s water lily.

1 Comment »

  1. These look familiar! Is that a Mobius strip I see?

    Comment by shynski — September 28, 2009 @ 10:53 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

